Thursday, 3 April 2008

VA - Bullshit Detector #1 12"

Released on Crass Records in 1980, this was a compilation of unsigned punk bands taken from demo tapes. As such the sound quality is pretty terrible throughout! Some of these bands would go on to release some great records, such as Amebix, Disrupters, Alternative. Icon changed their name to Icon AD and released a couple of singles with a poppier sound than their track on here. Overground records released a CD compiling those recently. Most of the other bands disappeared into the ether.

Is this the most music anyone's fitted on a 12" at 45RPM? I have no idea why Crass didn't press this at 33.

My favourite songs are Counter Attack, Icon, Eratics & Disrupters.


A01 - Andy T - Jazz On A Summers Day
A02 - Counter Attack - Don't Wanna Fight For You
A03 - Alternative - Change It
A04 - Clockwork Criminals - We Are You
A05 - Reputations In Jeopardy - Girls Love Popstars
A06 - Crass - Do They Owe Us A Living
A07 - Amebix - University Challenged
A08 - Sceptics - Local Chaos
A09 - Sinyx - Mark Of The Beast
A10 - Frenzy Battalion - Thalidomide
A11 - Icon - Cancer
A12 - Speakers - Why
A13 - A.P.F. Brigade - Anarchist Attack
B01 - Fuck The C.I.A. - Right Or Wrong
B02 - Caine Mutiny & The Kallisti Apples Of Nonsense - Morning Star
B03 - Sucks - '3'
B04 - Porno Squad - Khaki Doesn't Go With My Eyes
B05 - S.P.G. Murders - Soldiers
B06 - Eratics - National Service
B07 - Red Alert - Who Needs Society
B08 - Snipers - War Song
B09 - Armchair Power - Power
B10 - Disrupters - Napalm
B11 - Andy T - Nagasaki Mon Amour
B12 - Action Frogs - Drumming Up Hope (Ferret Skank)

Link in comments


Vom said...

Here it is:

sexy said...